Eternal Temporality

Always dies, sometimes lives

Rinshan Kaihou

Gained when, after declaring a quad(open or closed), the tile you draw from the dead wall(the rinshan tile) turns out to be your winning tile. Worth 1 han.

Because this hand is not made by calling anything, it is treated as a tsumo. If your hand is completely closed, the 1 han tsumo bonus is added to this hand. When determining fu, it’s generally accepted that you don’t count the 2 fu from the tsumo, but the rule sets that do count it are increasing nowadays.

Distribution of points is treated the same as if the hand was won by tsumo. However, when you call the fourth tile when you already have a closed triplet in your hand(a daiminkan) and win off of the dead wall tile, the person who discarded that tile may instead pay the full amount. In addition, while it almost never happens, if you chain multiple kans together and win off one of the dead wall tiles, some rules state that the person who discarded the tile you originally called will still pay the full amount.

If you are in tenpai and declare kan in order to get rinshan kaihou when if you have nothing else in your hand to give you any han, you’re going to have a bad time. The probability rate of getting a rinshan kaihou is generally accepted to be too low compared to other 1-han hands.

Generally, the kan dora that should have been flipped for the kan used in rinshan kaihou is used, and is revealed after the person wins for more possible dora.

Rinshan kaihou does not stack with haitei maoyue(drawing the final tile for the win).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: